I am enjoying my blogging experience thus far, probably because there is no pressure to produce new material. I feel like I usually have alot to say about many things. I just finished reading a blog by another blogger that I enjoyed. She was clarifying how NOT to discuss Christianity. She made some good points. But I don’t see the purpose of arguing about matters of faith on a strictly intellectual basis. I believe we are (when I say “we” I am referring to true, born-again believers in the risen Lord Jesus Christ), to speak the truth in love to the unbelieving world around us. Of course, in reality, hearts and minds are “won over” one person at a time. And each person is a unique individual with their own set of life-experiences. Thus, each person tends to be “reached” in a slightly different way.

It’s true, of course, that non-believers, and especially atheists, argue that Christianity is not true because…well, there is a plethora of reasons that can be given. Fortunately, for the believer, none of them are true. And most atheistic unbelievers do not believe in the existence of truth itself. So, what basis for faith in Christ could there possibly be for such a person? No, we all come to faith in Christ in God’s good time (if we come at all, that is). It is the job of the believer to speak the truth in love…not to convince the world by shrewd arguments that Christ died for them, personally. Certainly we are to have an answer ready to those who are truly seeking God.  Our business is to walk in truth and love (and faith), seeking opportunities to shine His light into this dark world. I don’t think anyone has ever been “argued” into the Kingdom of God.

