One typographical error I found in the Bible (KJV)

I remember coming across these two passages many years ago and thinking, “I found an error in the Bible.” But as the years passed I could not recall the name of the king, or the chapters and verses of the apparent contradiction. Just recently I began to, through an online program, read the Bible through in a year. Today I came across the first one and realized I had re-found the mistake.

2 Chronicles 22

1 And the inhabitants of Jerusalem made Ahaziah his [Jehoram’s] youngest son king in his stead: for the band of men that came with the Arabians to the camp had slain all the eldest. So Ahaziah the son of Jehoram king of Judah reigned.

2 Forty and two years old was Ahaziah when he began to reign, and he reigned one year in Jerusalem. His mother’s name also was Athaliah the daughter of Omri.

2 Kings 8

26. Two and twenty years old was Ahaziah when he began to reign; and he reigned one year in Jerusalem. And his mother’s name was Athaliah, the daughter of Omri king of Israel.

Since Ahaziah’s father, Jehoram, was only forty years old when HE died,1 and Ahaziah began to reign at Jehoram’s death, I suggest the correct age of Ahaziah (when he began to reign in Jerusalem) was twenty-two…not forty-two. I do not know whether this typo can be traced back to the ancient Hebrew, or is a translator’s error. However, in my mind, the King James Version is not completely without error. My faith in God, His Son Jesus Christ, and His Holy Scriptures, is still intact and as strong as ever. And, although there are many apparent contradictions in the Bible, all of them (so far, anyway) can be cleared up and understood correctly by returning to the original languages. This is the only typographical error I know of in the entire Bible.

I hope my pointing out of this error does not damage anyone’s faith. Since I was saved and born again in 1979, I have had a deep and abiding love and respect for the truth. And one thing I have learned through the years: God certainly CAN handle the truth. And He desires all of His children to know the truth in all matters in life. I just don’t think Christians should take another’s word that the KJV is “inerrant” when it is obviously not. May our heavenly Father bless us ALL in our diligent search for the truth.

